ghost of darkness

In the month of November I will write a ‘small stone’ every day by paying attention to one thing at a time as an exercise in mindful writing. By immersing in that one thing through my writing and painting, I will weave myself in the moment-ness of  life.

Last evening a cyclone raged through Chennai. Large trees in my locality swayed and fell,  they brought down electric cables and wires. We were steeped in darkness for more than twenty-four hours. I lit candles and watched them bring light in my house. My first exercise of mindfulness was born out of the long hours of silence as candles spluttered and melted away.

I watch the coil of smoke hesitant, 
so much in doubt of itself,
rising from the candle snuffed out.
Smell of wax lingers, the ghost sways 
when the glow is gone.

Leave a Reply

