The River At My Backyard

The pantry at my office offers a beautiful view of the garden in the backyard. I look out of the glass door when I have my lunch, notice the plumeria tree in blossom, the tall heliconia defiantly adding beauty to a mundane corner of the yard.

I realised one day that I was not paying attention to this small yard that holds so much more. I decided to sit and just look out, see all the things in the yard. I decided on a time to do this every day. I observed that on no two days was the yard the same.

I wanted to paint the yard everyday, execute quick sketches soon after my tea in the afternoon. I was first worried that I would repeat myself. When I began painting everyday I realised that I was looking at the yard differently, noticing things that I had not seen before. Earlier I had looked at only the trees, flowers and the grass. There is a shelter outside the room where the office drivers rest through the day, there is a small motor room, an underground sump – I observed all these when I sketched the yard. I also observed that I came with a different frame of mind everyday to paint, I would have just completed a routine editing work, or  have begun to do some work more stimulating.  I was a different person everyday, regardless the world that lay outside was different everyday.  These words sum up my experience:

“You can never step into the same river; for new waters are always flowing on to you.”
Heraclitus

Day 1


Day 2


Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

One thought on “The River At My Backyard

Leave a Reply

