Snacking

I liked snacking on pink sugar candies. As a child I remember my visits to Fairs for the large pink floss candies that I ate there. I was amazed at the way they melted in my mouth, was more amazed at the way the large floss could be pinched to a small ball.  

Another snack that was my favourite for its taste and the tactile pleasure it offered was sonpapdi. The sonpapdi karan visited in the night. My ears were trained to pick the bell of his cart. I rushed out to see the large monster shadows that the lantern on his cart threw on my wall. I loved the grainy feel of sonpapdi that he generously filled in a cone of paper. A night’s dessert those days cost only 20 paisa.

I am an urban sketcher

Leave a Reply

