Banana Mandi

The sky was washed a luminous blue after the rain, the evening hung like a turquoise pendant when I left home. I walked past the slushy streets of Virugambakkam market to a quiet lane colonized by sleeping dogs. A truck pulled in and unloaded bananas before a row of wholesale shops.  The shops were empty, the floors were covered with dry leaves. I sketched the bananas stacked outside these shops before they were taken in. The sleeping dogs did not mind my company, one of them cheerlessly looked up and curled back to sleep as I mixed colours  in my palette to paint the very blue day.

I am an urban sketcher

One thought on “Banana Mandi

Leave a Reply

