The Thousand Lights

It rained all day, but I kept to my program of driving to the Thousand Lights mosque in Anna Salai. I made a quick sketch, took a couple of photographs as the crowd of pedestrians in raincoats and umbrellas milled around me. I have sketched the part of the mosque seen above the traffic from Anna Salai.  

The Thousand Lights mosque  was built in 1820 on three acre land donated by the Nawab of Wallajah. It is located in the heart of Chennai city on an arterial road where government offices, educational institutions, commercial establishments like theatres, shopping malls are established.

Soon after I completed the sketch I went to a Coffee Shop in a famous mall closeby and drank scalding hot masala chai. I was in no hurry to return home on such a beautiful wet afternoon.
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

